Bru na Boinne and Crom Estate

Today I bid fond farewells to my hosts and travelled via Bru na Boinne (Newgrange and Knowth) to Northern Ireland and my home for the next few nights – Alder Cottage, Crom Estate, Co. Fermanagh.

What a beautiful day to visit this fascinating site which is still open to interpretation despite the work of eminent archaeologists over the past fifty or so years.

knowth and satellite

Knowth

Parking at the Visitor Centre I was amazed at the numbers of coaches and cars but they mainly approached from the east and the M1 motorway whereas I approached from the west.

First you must buy tickets for either or both sites and coaches run every half hour. Being a Heritage Ireland member I took tickets for both but in the end decided to forego the Newgrange visit as I had a longish journey ahead of me. So I only managed to see Knowth. Our tour lasted about 45 minutes. I did manage to glimpse Newgrange from the road on leaving the Visitor Centre.

passage tomb

Eastern Passage at Knowth

new grange from knowth

Newgrange from Knowth

neolithic art

Kerbstone – Neolithic Art

The Great Mound was built over 5000 years ago, probably after the construction of Newgrange and before the construction of Dowth. The Great Mound at Knowth is similar in size to Newgrange and is surrounded by 18 smaller satellite mounds. The Great Mound has two passages with entrances on opposite sides, the western passage is 34 metres long and the eastern passage is 40 metre long, ending with a cruciform chamber.”

ng from road

Newgrange from the Road

It was an interesting drive up to the north and the route took me in and out of Northern Ireland and Ireland a couple of times. There is no sign of the border; just a sign to say distance now in miles each time I entered NI.

Crom and Lough Erne were looking beautiful as I walked around the estate before bed.

welcome to alder

Welcome to Alder Cottage, Crom

 

4 thoughts on “Bru na Boinne and Crom Estate

Leave a Reply

